Shoulda known better

I’ve been seeing a guy the last month. Something fairly casual.

I’ve been very balanced and I feel I’m definitely on the right track.

I’m no longer having compulsory behaviours.

But you know how something always happens and ends up destroying your balance?

Well, this guy gave me a fucking STI.

I have fucking gonorrhoea.

Two weeks ago, I fell sick with strep throat after having unprotected oral sex with this guy after he told me he was clean. I was treated for strep throat with antibiotics (gonorrhoea is treated with antibiotics) and it went away. Last night, two days after being with him again – same incubation period as last time – I fell sick again. This time, I told my doctor about the previous infection and after a few tests I had my diagnose a day later.

Everyone sees oral sex as safe sex but it’s actually a lot riskier than most people think. I learned my lesson.

Now I need to have a very awkward conversation with this guy… I have no idea how to do this. Wish me luck.

One thought on “Shoulda known better

  1. Well, I don’t think there is any way that conversation won’t be awkward. Can’t think of any way around that. Just be bold and do it.
    Thank you for sharing your experience, and educating and making many of us more aware of the risks of oral sex.

    Like

Leave a comment